Archives at CLP-Main: CLP Institutional Archives

This guide provides an overview of collections held in the Archives at CLP-Main.

Introduction

The CLP Institutional Archives serves as the institutional memory of CLP and maintains records of enduring value chronicling the development of CLP since its inception in 1895. Resources include administrative records created by departments, branches, administration, the director, and trustees, as well as other materials that document the historical function of the library such as programming, facilities, press releases, and more.

Digital Collections

Andrew Carnegie Correspondence

This collection consists of correspondence created between the years 1890 and 1920 pertaining to Andrew Carnegie, his philanthropy, and the founding of his Pittsburgh institutions.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh 125th Anniversary Collection

This collection contains selected materials connected to CLP's 1895 opening and early years of operation. The collection includes correspondence, memos, newspaper articles, pamphlets, and other ephemera retained by the Director's office.

Make an Appointment!

If you are searching for microfilm, Pittsburgh Photograph Library, local history texts or genealogy resources, please contact the Family & Local History department at 412.622.3154 or email padept@carnegielibrary.org. You can also make an appointment with the following link: https://carnegielibrary.libcal.com/reserve/thirdfloor.

If you are searching for Music Special Collections, please call the Music Department at 412.622.3114 or email musicdept@carnegielibrary.org.

Issues of magazines and journals may be in our Reference Collection and discoverable in our catalog to request in-person.

CLP-Main Collections

Andrew Carnegie Correspondence, 1890-1920 The collection contains correspondence pertaining to Carnegie's philanthropy and the founding of his Pittsburgh institutions. Materials are available on microfilm for viewing.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Development Office, 1940-2006 The collection contains information on strategic and renovation planning including surveys and proposals. The collection also contains information about campaigns, finance and budget, and audio-visual materials.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Director's Office collection III - Allegheny Regional Asset District (ARAD), 1993-2007 The collection contains records pertaining to the receipt of funding from ARAD by CLP. Contents include information on grant requests, funding precedents and trends, and funding for CLP operations and capital projects.

CLP Branch Collections at CLP-Main

Allegheny Regional Branch, 1889-2000 The materials are separated into four collections: the Allegheny Regional Branch, Neighborhood Services of the CLP, Director's Office of CLP, and the Allegheny Department of Public Works and Carnegie Free Library. The collection contains materials specifically relating to events, reports, and correspondence of the branch. Other topics include: information on facilities management, relations with branches, historical information on the original building and staff.
Allegheny Regional Branch, 1934-2005 The collection consists of fifteen series of records on the Pittsburgh Public Theater, Lecture Hall, building concerns, programs and projects, correspondence, collections, grants, finances, Friends of Allegheny Regional, strategic initiatives, celebrations and awards, and reports and statistics.
Beechview Branch, 1930-1980 The collection primarily consists of administrative correspondence and branch reports. Much of the correspondence concerns the proposal, planning, blueprints, and construction of the branch. The collection also contains monthly reports from the children's department.
Brookline Branch, 1930-2003 The collection consists of seven series containing annual reports for the branch and its children's department. It also includes correspondence, documents, and newspaper articles. Drawings and renovation plans are included, as well as various photographs from branch programs.
Carrick Branch, 1935-1994 The collection primarily consists of administrative correspondence, annual, monthly reports for the branch and its departments. The correspondence concerns the remodeling of the library building, vandalism, and discipline of patrons.
Downtown and Business Branch, 1923-2001 The collection consists of correspondence regarding the establishment of the branch in 1924, branch relocation, patron concerns, facilities, staff, and finances. The collection also contains annual and monthly reports, invoices, studies, blueprints, and images.
East Liberty Branch, 1903-2010 The collection consists of five series made up of annual and monthly reports for the branch and children's department, documents related to programs and anniversaries, newspaper articles, photographs, and correspondence.
Hazelwood Branch, 1900-2009 The collection is made up of annual and monthly reports for the branch and children's department, documents regarding hours, finances, and surveys, stations and deposit collections, and items from the community.
Hazelwood Branch, 2000-2013 Collection materials cover the relocation of the branch in 2004, branch monthly statistics and newsletters, and awards and recognitions.
Hill District Branch, 1899-2008 The collection contains primarily administrative correspondence and reports, history of the branch, anniversaries, advisory committee meeting minutes, programming documents, and monthly reports from the boys and girl's room. Notably in this collection is a librarian's daybook from 1899 to 1902 and early librarian exams.
Homewood Branch, 1902-2002 The collection contains annual and monthly reports, and circulation statistics. It also contains records of the advisory board, branch renovations, correspondence, architectural reports, and legal documents. There are also historical audio/visual materials, books, and newspaper articles.
Knoxville Branch, 1935-1989 The collection consists of documents pertaining to administrative correspondence, annual reports, building planning, construction, maintenance and furniture reports and correspondence pertaining to the construction of the branch.
Knoxville Branch, 1936-1965 The collection consists of documents pertaining to branch history, the renovation of the library, and annual reports.
Lawrenceville Branch, 1898-1989 The collection contains documents from the opening of the branch. Other documents include annual and monthly reports for the branch and children's department, policy and statistics, damage reports, renovations, repairs, equipment purchases, newspaper clippings, library events, and maps.
Lawrenceville Branch, 1901-1998 This collection contains documents pertaining to the opening of the branch, annual and monthly reports for the children's and adult departments, and documents related to the library's functions. Materials also include branch surveys, job description, circulation checks, correspondence, histories, awards, and oversized Registers of Borrowers ledgers.
Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (LBPH), 1946-2002 The collection contains operation budgets, renovation documents and blueprints, statistics, reports, instructional materials, brochures, grants, and contracts and agreements.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Reading Center, 1964-2001 The collection consists of monthly and annual reports, and administration correspondence and information regarding fundraising and relocation.
Sheraden Branch, 1956-1988 The collection consists of annual reports, correspondence, and other materials on branch renovations, incident reports, budgets, staffing, circulation, and other business operations.
Sheraden Branch, 1966-2002 The collection consists of documents pertaining to branch history, the history of the surrounding area, and annual reports.
South Side Branch, 1909-1989 The collection is made up of annual and monthly branch and children's department reports, as well as documents pertaining to hours, budgeting, and programming. The collection also contains newspaper articles and documents related to the South Side community.
South Side Branch, 1909-2005 The collection contains annual and monthly reports from the branch and children's department, circulation statistics, newspaper articles, and correspondence.
South Side Branch, 1970-2008 The collection consists of monthly reports and statistics from the branch and adult and young adult departments. Also included are newspaper clippings, correspondence, and programming materials.
South Side Branch, 1990-2012 The collection consists of documents pertaining to branch history, the history of the surrounding area, and library renovation.
Squirrel Hill Branch, 1962-2002 The collection contains documents regarding branch planning and construction and renovation, budget materials and statistics, and branch events. The collection also contains from the advisory contains.
Woods Run Branch, 1956-2006 The collection is composed of annual and monthly reports from the branch and children's department. Also included is statistics, financial information, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and blueprints.
Woods Run Branch, 1964-2012 The collection consists of materials from the 2002-2006 renovation, administrative documents, flyers, newspapers, questionnaires, meeting minutes, correspondence, reports, certificates, and visitor information.