DIY Digitization Studio Appointments
The Recollection Studio supports the effective use and application of digitization technology to preserve cultural heritage materials through a Do-It-Yourself model. The dedicated space provides hardware, software, and documentation to digitize VHS tapes, audio cassette tapes, documents, photographs, slides, and negatives.
Questions? Please visit the Studio's web page or contact the Studio at Recollectionstudio@carnegielibrary.org.
Your interest may be in the past, but permanently preserving your family's history relies on today's technology. If you have limited knowledge of computer equipment or feel uncomfortable using it, Digitizing Your Family History will teach you easy methods for choosing and using scanners, copiers, digital cameras, and software to keep and share your work with others.
Creating Family Archives is a book written by an archivist for you, your family, and friends, taking you step-by-step through the process of arranging and preserving your own family archives.
Your interest may be in the past, but permanently preserving your family's history relies on today's technology. If you have limited knowledge of computer equipment or feel uncomfortable using it, Digitizing Your Family History will teach you easy methods for choosing and using scanners, copiers, digital cameras, and software to keep and share your work with others.
The Digital Archives Handbook provides archivists a roadmap to create and care for digital archives. Written by archival experts and practitioners, Purcell brings together theoretical and practical approaches to creating, managing, and preserving digital archives.
This book focuses on the care of personal papers, photographs, and memorabilia found in the typical home. Written for individuals who hope to protect family history, this book provides everything an unofficial archivist needs to ensure materials that connect us with our past are available for future generations.
This book is a practical how-to guide for organizing your growing digital photo collection, digitizing and preserving heirloom family photos, and sharing your treasured photos.
How the Recollection Studio transformed an archive into an art exhibition, by Rebecca Stewart
For the Winter and Spring of 2018, I had the great opportunity to work alongside the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Recollection Studio to create an exhibition using the Pittsburgh Photographic Library (PPL). The PPL was originally conceived in 1950 as an initiative by the Allegheny Conference on Community Development to document the city’s urban renaissance.
Marybeth was one of the first patrons to use Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s REcollection Studio shortly after it opened in fall 2017. This free community resource provides all of the tools and software needed to digitize photographs, slides, and documents, as well as audio and video cassettes. Below, she describes the importance of capturing her family’s memories in a digital format.
For the past two months, I have been lucky enough to work alongside the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Recollection Studio to curate and develop an exhibition using photographs from the Pittsburgh Photographic Library (PPL).
This collection was gathered from a photography program initiated by the Allegheny Conference on Community Development in the early 1950s in an attempt to document the daily life of the American people. Led by photographer Roy Stryker, the project consisted of a group of photographers assigned to shoot Pittsburgh as it was. This venture was one of the largest photographic documentation tasks ever undertaken in America at the time.
