Learn more about CLP’s Archives and Special Collections, all of which are open to all researchers! We’ll share some of our favorite treasures in the collection, teach visitors the best way to handle these unique items, and show you how to request to use them. Come to the Family & Local History Department on the 3rd floor to learn more!
Local History Day is an exciting event that celebrates the rich history and culture of the Pittsburgh region and beyond. The event brings together libraries, archives, historical societies, and community groups from the area to share their resources and knowledge with attendees.
This year’s theme focuses on the connections between the past and present, and how our community’s shared experiences and stories shape our understanding of history.
Whether you are a history buff or simply interested in learning more about the area, Local History Day offers something for everyone.
The Rare Books and Special Collections Department holds over 16,000 items including valuable and historically significant materials, such as first editions, limited editions, fine bindings, early printed books, local history resources, maps, photographs, and more.
Collections are particularly strong in American History and Literature, Architecture, Travel and Exploration, Religion and Philosophy, and Early Printing.
“dont steal this Book my honest friend for fear,” wrote Nathaniel Winston in his 1825 copy of Introduction to the English Reader. By some standards, this is a relatively tame book curse, as others have gone as far as threatening to gouge out a thief's eyes or wish them struck by a demon’s sword. Book Curses date back to the 7th century BC and were often inscribed by owners to protect against theft.
To get a closer look at this book curse, make an appointment with Rare Books and Special Collections at CLP Main.
Introduction to the English Reader
Lindley Murray, 1825
Call Number: r428.6 M96-2
A Pictorial Paper For The Fireside" was the slogan of People’s Monthly, a magazine published out of Pittsburgh in the mid to late 1800s. The magazine regularly featured articles like "Gossip For and About Women," "How to Make Wax Flowers," and "Wit and Humor." It also showcased luxurious cover illustrations and detailed artwork throughout. Learn more about CLP Main's Archives and Special Collections holdings at the Archives & Special Collections Treasures Event on June 1st from 2:00-4:00pm.
Unable to make it to the Archives & Special Collections Treasures event, no worries! To view this item please request an appointment with the Rare Book & Special Collections Department at CLP Main.
vol. 1 no. 1 (June 1871)-vol. 5 no. 2 (Feb. 1875)
Call Number: qr 051 P41 vol. 1 no. 1 (June 1871)-vol. 5 no. 2 (Feb. 1875)
Seed Swap 2024 is almost here, and CLP Main's Rare Book and Special Collections Department is bringing the bugs!
Henry C. McCook’s 1884 work, Tenants of an Old Farm: Leaves from the Note-Book of a Naturalist will be on display at the event among other RB&SC items.
McCook’s collection of scientific musings on the "tenants" of the natural world, is tender and filled with detailed prints of potential garden companions. Come take a look at who McCook calls his friends!
Unable to make it to the Seed Swap 2024 event, no worries! To view this item please request an appointment with the Rare Book & Special Collections Department at CLP Main.
Henry C.McCook, 1884
Call Number: r 595.7 M13
The early American work on electricity, An Epitome of Electricity and Galvanism authored by Two Gentlemen of Philadelphia, was anonymously published in 1809 by Jane Aitken. Its pages contain thoughtful accounts of discoveries, experiments, and investigations. The featured image is an engraved frontispiece depicting an "electrical machine."
The book's notable success led its two authors, Jacob Green (1790-1841) and Erskine Hazard (1790-1865), to reveal their identities. Remarkably, both were in their teenage years at the time of publication.
Both gentlemen went on to attain notable accomplishments. Jacob Green became a professor at Princeton and later was appointed as the chair of chemistry at the newly established Jefferson Medical College. In contrast, Erskine Hazard went on to become a prominent industrialist. He played a crucial role in the development of infrastructure projects in Pennsylvania and the Northeastern United States, significantly contributing to the onset of the Industrial Revolution in the United States.
To view this item please request an appointment with the Rare Book & Special Collections Department at CLP Main.
An Epitome of Electricity and Galvanism, by Two Gentlemen of Philadelphia
Jacob Green and Erskine Hazard, 1809
Call Number: r537 E69
"Do Mammals Lay Eggs?
The question of whether mammals lay eggs was answered with the help of naturalist George Bennett (1804–1893). Bennett's interest in the platypus led him to be the first to capture live specimens, including three females with eggs in their uteri. These platypuses were sent to anatomist Richard Owen, who, after thorough examination, confirmed that some mammals indeed lay eggs.
For more insights into George Bennett's contributions to the natural sciences, his book Gatherings of a Naturalist in Australasia, published in 1860, is an excellent resource and is part of CLP Main’s Rare Book & Special Collections Department. The book documents Bennett's findings during his travels and includes detailed illustrations, such as those of two platypuses (image above). Additionally, the book features artwork drawn on stone by Joseph Wolf (1820-1899), a German artist celebrated for his significant contributions to wildlife art.
To view Gatherings of a Naturalist in Australasia by George Bennett, please request an appointment with the Rare Book & Special Collections Department at CLP Main.
Gatherings of a Naturalist in Australasia
George Bennett, 1860
Call Number: r570.993 B43
Published in 1873, John Wise's book Through the Air: A Narrative of Forty Years' Experience As An Aeronaut contains first hand accounts of hot air balloonists, including Miss Bradley. Known at the time as "one of the most heroic women of America," Miss Bradley's first ever balloon ascension from Easton, PA ended in a balloon explosion in Still Valley, New Jersey. The explosion couldn't keep Miss Bradley down, she immediately purchased another balloon and took once more to the sky.
To view this item please request an appointment with the Rare Book & Special Collections Department at CLP Main.
Through the Air: A Narrative of Forty Years' Experience As An Aeronaut
John Wise, 1873
Call Number: r 533.6 W81t
Each morning in April, the Rare Books and Special Collections Department at CLP – Main will bring poetry to life over the PA system. This started on April 1st with “Lettuce. A Garden Esculent. Cold Hearted,” by the American poet F.S. Osgood. Renowned as one of her era’s leading female poets, Osgood was a key figure in the Language of Flowers genre, a literary trend of the 19th century that brought botany into the spotlight. This movement included flower dictionaries detailing their meanings, and floral-themed poetry and prose, providing a sentimental view of natural history.
What, exactly, does it mean for someone to find their voice? What avenues exist for discovering and for sharing a voice? Surely, a voice is defined as much by those who receive it as it is by those who express it? And as diphthongs and gutturals are exchanged, relationships develop, ideas are shared, and communities grow! Whether through writing, music, sports broadcasting, travel, or philanthropy, CLP-Main’s current Special Collections exhibit, Finding Your Voice: The Many Mediums of Expression explores these ideas through sharing some of the wonderful voices from our collection that have made Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh.
