Archives at CLP-Main: Local History and Western Pennsylvania Archives

This guide provides an overview of collections held in the Archives at CLP-Main.

Introduction

Local History and Western Pennsylvania archives provide resources on topics related to the city of Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania. Materials include personal, family, business, or group papers and correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, maps, and ephemera.

If you are searching for microfilm, physical images from the Pittsburgh Photographic Library, local history books or genealogy resources, please contact the Local History & Genealogy department at 412-622-3154 or email padept@carnegielibrary.org.

If you are searching for Music Special Collections, please call the Music Department at 412-622-3114 or email musicdept@carnegielibrary.org.

Issues of magazines and journals may be in our Reference Collection and discoverable in our catalog to request in-person. Please contact 412-622-3114 if you have questions locating resources.

Digital Collections

Pittsburgh Photographic Library Collection

The collection contains over 18,000 images from a photography project by the Allegheny Conference on Community Development to highlight the redevelopment of Downtown Pittsburgh during the early 1950's. Photographers were assigned to specific areas and events in order to capture transition from old to new, and the social and cultural activities surrounding it.

Squirrel Hill News, 1935-1970

Issues of the Squirrel Hill News, a community newspaper from 1935 to 1970.

Old Stone Tavern Accounts Ledger, 1793-1796

Part of the Historic Pittsburgh Book Collection on HistoricPittsburgh.org, the Old Stone Tavern Accounts Ledger provides a glimpse into the operation of the West End tavern in 1973 to 1796.

Local History and Western Pennsylvania Archives

Leon A. Arkus collection of John Kane, 1930-2007 The collection has several types of materials including correspondence, photographs, programs, printed materials, manuscripts, objects, original sketches, and interview notes created by Arkus for his publication on John Kane, as well as items created by Marie McSwigan on her publication on Kane.
Liberty Tunnel Collection, 1893-1924 The collection contains daily accounts of the construction of the tunnels that span the duration of the project. Within the collection are progress reports, statistics, inspection forms, journals, business records, financial records, administrative records, and photographs.
Lucile (Bunny) Todd Scrapbook, 1931-1935 Scrapbook with 49 pages. Pages contain calling cards, lunch, dinner, dance, and wedding invitations, and newspaper clippings regarding debutante and other high society events in Pittsburgh from 1931 to 1935. Lucile annotated what events she attended, who she went with, and who she was visiting. The scrapbook provides a glimpse of debutante life and the women involved in the early 1930's in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
Minority Business Journal, 1981-2014 Minority Business Journal publications spans the years 1985 to 2014 and consists of 29 volumes. This collection is primarily newspaper printed material containing content that focuses on minority business owners and the issues of running and growing a business. The collection also includes the 1981 and 1985 Pennsylvania Blackbook: An In-Depth Source of Information on Minority Achievers created by James D. Lewis Enterprises. The publication highlights minorities holding key positions in business, social, civic, fraternity and sorority organizations, churches, federal, state, and local government agencies, public school systems, colleges, and universities. It was compiled by Lewis to identify Black individuals holding middle-to-upper management positions in corporations and companies headquartered in Pennsylvania.
The Pennsylvania Postcard Collection, 1893-2005 The Pennsylvania Postcard Collection spans the years 1893 to 2005 and consists of 15 series: the Caldabaugh Collection, CLP PA Department Collection, David Taylor Collection, Dr. C. F. Winton Collection, Jill McConkey Collection, Judy and Bill Werner Collection, Lenore Bayus Collection, Lynda Soady Collection, Macy Levine Collection, Marina Collection, Patricia Silverman Collection, Phillip Blackledge Collection, Richard Pealer Collection, Thomas Pryde Collection and the Unknown Donor Collection. The series titles are by donor. The materials in this collection consist primarily of standard 3.5" x 5.5" post cards. A few items are bound with plastic spirals or contained within accordion-style souvenir folders. There are a small number of items such as trading cards, valentines, alumni books and dance cards.
Radio Transcript Newspaper collection, 1992-1993 Radio Transcript Newspaper, monthly magazines. 15 issues, May 1992 to September 1993. Self-produced, published, and distributed by Richard Engel, Erika L. Peterson, Robert C. Pfeifer, and Jen Bannan all graduates from CMU. Newspapers covered topics such as local art, politics, poetry, and fiction.
Reverend James W. Garvey collection on Carnegie, PA places of worship, 1992-2022 This collection contains correspondence, line drawings, photographs and historical information on places of worship in Carnegie, PA. The collection also contains programs from religious events. Also, included are bluegrass benefit posters and brochures from events held at the St. Joseph House of Hospitality under the management of Paul Dvorchak.
Robert L. Vann scrapbooks, 1903-1944 The collection contains six scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings covering Robert L. Vann's career and life events, as well as articles about topics and political topics surrounding civil rights and other subjects. The clippings are mostly from the Pittsburgh Courier, some written by Vann. The scrapbooks also contain correspondence to and from Vann. Copies of correspondence are included and letters to Vann's wife, Jessie Vann are present as well. Letters contain congratulations to Vann for his appointment to Special Assistant to Attorney General Homer Cummings, RSVPs, Pittsburgh Courier business, politics, inquiries, and general communication. Journal articles, programs from universities, biographies, and tributes and dedications are present in the scrapbooks as well. The collection also includes a typed script for Harry B. Webber's Vann of Pittsburgh: The Man Who Founded a Negro Newspaper Empire.
South Pittsburgh Reporter newspaper collection, 1877-2022 The collection contains 18 boxes of paper copies of the South Pittsburgh Reporter from January 1989 to 2022. A small selection of other south Pittsburgh newspapers are present as well from 1877 to 1984. Physical newspapers include select copies from 1989 to 2011. The bulk of the physical collection contains issues from 2003 to 2010 and 2015 to 2022. Microfilm for issues from 1978 to 2002 and 2010 to 2015 are available to view at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh in Oakland on the third floor in the Family and Local History Department.

Make an Appointment!

If you are searching for microfilm, Pittsburgh Photograph Library, local history texts or genealogy resources, please contact the Family & Local History department at 412.622.3154 or email padept@carnegielibrary.org. You can also make an appointment with the following link: https://carnegielibrary.libcal.com/reserve/thirdfloor.

If you are searching for Music Special Collections, please call the Music Department at 412.622.3114 or email musicdept@carnegielibrary.org.

Issues of magazines and journals may be in our Reference Collection and discoverable in our catalog to request in-person.