Skip to Main Content Skip to content

Archives at CLP-Main: Use Our Collections

This guide provides an overview of collections held in the Archives at CLP-Main.

Finding Aids

Accessing Collections

The Archives are available to the public for research. Whether you are curious about what we have or working on a project, you are welcome in the Archives. An appointment is required so we can prepare materials for viewing. 

Archival appointments are available Tuesday evenings and some weekends. Please see our Access and Use Policy and read over the Acknowledge Form to prepare for your visit. Click on the "Schedule Appointment" button below to request an appointment. The Archivist will contact you to confirm your appointment.

Request an Appointment!

Archive materials are available to the public for research. An appointment is required so we can prepare materials for viewing. To request an appointment please email info@carnegielibrary.org.

If you are searching for microfilm, Pittsburgh Photographic Library, local history texts or genealogy resources, please contact the Family & Local History department at 412.622.3154 or email padept@carnegielibrary.org. You can also make an appointment here: Family & Local History. 

If you are searching for Music Special Collections, please call the Music Department at 412.622.3114 or email musicdept@carnegielibrary.org.

If you are searching Pittsburgh Art and Architecture Collections, please call 412.622.3114 or email info@carnegielibrary.org.

Issues of magazines and journals may be in our Reference Collection and are discoverable in our catalog to request in-person.