Skip to Main Content Skip to content

Art and Architecture: Introduction

This guide provides an overview of Art and Architecture resources, researching antiques, collectables and art values, Pittsburgh Art and Architecture Special Collections, and the Zine Collection

Painted image of the sun with a face. Latin words circle around the border.

Painter's Seal at CLP-Main

Browse the Shelves

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh has resources for learning about how to make art, art history and artist biographies. There are books containing information about a vast array of architectural styles and topics about architecture. Click on the links to explore the subject headings for the books and DVDs in the collection. Circulating volumes may be placed on hold to pick up at any Allegheny County public library.

Interested on what library call numbers are assigned to various subjects? These links may be helpful if you want to browse the shelves in person.

Tour of CLP - Main: Photos

Building ornate exterior; white, 3 archways for front doors with columns above, Engraving over the door reads

CLP-Main in Oakland

Round light surrounded by an ornate brass cage and highly carved brass fixture.

Outdoor sconce

3 large wooden double doors with glass archways above each.

Front doors - interior view

White marble stairs, polished brass handlebars.

First floor hallway and left staircase

A revealed section of an Intricate tile mosaic pattern on floor; rest of the floor is larger marble pattern.

Section uncovered of original mosaic floor

Interior, arched columns, with book display shelves.

First floor - New & Featured Department

Book display shelves, carpeted floor, looking through doorway.

First floor - Teen Department entryway

Wooden cabinet door, partially opened to show a small sink.

Sink in Children's Department

Wall of glass windows showing internal bamboo garden. Glass walkway and wood floors on the inside.

First floor - Zen Garden

Long hallway with art on both walls.

First floor - Gallery at Main

Ornate gilded borders with medallion painting of clouds, in a marble stairwell.

Right stairwell

Circular painting featuring a Cherub.

Medallion painting - second floor hallway

Hallway with arched ribbed ceiling, circular medallion paintings, intricate gilding and borders

Second floor hallway

Large room with high ceilings and murals on the walls.

Second floor - Information & Reference Services Department

Large room with high ceilings and murals on the walls.

Second floor - Information & Reference Services Department

Large room showing row of tables with lamps. Murals on the walls.

Second floor - Information & Reference Services Department

Hallmark mural above an entryway.

Second floor - Information & Reference Services Department

Closeup of Hallmark mural, featuring two standing unicorns.

Second floor - mural closeup

Large room with bookshelves. Two men are on tall ladders against one wall.

Second floor - changing the lightbulbs in the Music Film & Audio Department

Row of bookshelves with thick glass floor.

Stacks

Bookshelf next to window, looking through to dinosaur skeleton.

Stacks view into Carnegie Museum

Bookshelf next to window, looking through to dinosaur skeleton.

Stacks

Dinosaur skeleton in foreground, bank of windows leading to the library stacks in the background.

Carnegie Museum view into the stacks

Very large an long room, with tables, filing cabinets, and bookshelves.

Third floor - Family and Local History Department

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh 2025 Artists-in-Residence

CLP is proud to announce the second annual Artist-in-Residence Series as part of our Vivian Ann Davidson Hewitt Initiative.

Click to view the 2025 Artists-in-Residence.

The Gallery at Main

The Gallery at Main, in alignment with the mission of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP), seeks to provide access to artwork and library-related exhibits, with new installations several times a year or based on requested use of space. The Gallery at Main reflects and complements services, programs, partnerships, and community events that our organization is engaged with in our community. Exhibits may be presented in a variety of formats and be reflective of community interests and needs.

Questions?

Profile Photo
CLP Staff

Tour CLP - Main

 

Group Tours of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh – Main (Oakland)

Tours and group visits of Main Library can now be booked. Our experienced staff at CLP – Main Library are happy to work with you to customize a visit that is meaningful for your group. 

Want to learn more?

Explore photos and more from the collections at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh. (From Google Arts & Culture.)

The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: a bit of history with some pictures / Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, 1907.

Read about the Mural Restoration at CLP - Main. 

Research Magazine Articles

Sign up for a free library card here.

Art Full Text

This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.

Index to articles from art, architecture and design magazines back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.

Art Index Retrospective

This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.

Index to articles from art, architecture and design magazines back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.

This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is a comprehensive database of current literature on American architecture and design. It is based on the multi-volume index of the same name, which was published in 1963 and collaborated by the Columbia University Avery Library collection.