Zines, short for fanzines, have been around since 1930 when The Science Correspondence Club published The Comet. However, it is now widely accepted that the origin of zines dates back before only by a different name. Self-publishing and the printing press gave way for those to share ideas and opinions, thus resisting mainstream culture (think of Martin Luther’s Ninety-Five Theses, ever heard of it?). Women’s suffrage magazines, pamphlets during the American Revolution, and “Little Magazines” during the Harlem Renaissance; these independent publications gave voice to the unheard. In the 1990s, zines gained new momentum through the riot grrrl movement, challenging sexism in punk culture, the rise of third-wave feminism, and DIY culture. Within our zine collection you’ll find someone’s personal experiences, movements to embrace & build community, comix, poetry, art, and above all voices from our community and beyond.
Our Zine Collection lives on the 2nd floor of CLP-Main in the Oversized Book Room. The zines are browsable, but they do not circulate, meaning you can read them here, but you cannot take them out of the building.
Selection Criteria:
The Information & Research Services (I&RS) librarians manage the collection, including reviewing donated Zines. I&RS librarian(s) will assess donations according to the library’s materials selection criteria and may use their discretion to decline a donation based on the number of items donated, content, or condition.
Zines added to the collection should be in good condition, with priority given to authors from/content related to Pittsburgh and/or Southwestern PA.
Zines in the collection are generally retained for 2-5 years, though some older Zines may be retained if they continue to demonstrate local and cultural significance.
CLP accepts Zine donations but does not guarantee that any donated items will be added to the collection.
Donations will be limited to one copy per Zine.
Zine donations recommended for the collection will be submitted to Collection Services for final approval and cataloging.
In addition to the donations policy, the Guidelines of Selection of Self-Published Materials will also be consulted and applied.
The Collection Development and Management Policy will also be consulted and applied.
