This short video by Kate Mercer defines what advocacy is and why it is such a critical part of citizenship and civic engagement.
Healing Justice Lineages by
A profound offering and call to action--collective stories, testimonials, and incantations for renewing political and spiritual liberation grounded in Black, Indigenous, People of Color, and Queer and Trans healing justice lineages
How to Make a Better World by
A guide to making the world a better place and becoming a good citizen, this volume is packed with ideas and tips for kids who want to know how to make a difference. Includes a glossary and a list of organizations, websites, and campaigns to give readers more information and ideas.
The Little Book of Little Activists by
Designed to encourage the world's future leaders to embrace social activism, this volume includes photos of children at the 2017 Women's March on Washington, inspirational quotes, simple ideas for how kids can get involved, and brief definitions of concepts like "equality" and "feminism."
The Suffragist Playbook: Your Guide to Changing the World by
A guide that shows how suffragists changed the United States by securing women's voting rights.
This recorded program was led by Fair Districts PA, a nonpartisan, statewide coalition of organizations and individuals who are working to fix legislative rules, create fair districts and map out a fair redistricting process that will help re-establish an accountable government that represents the people of Pennsylvania — not partisan politicians or outside interests.
1Hood Media
In addition to their “What Black Pittsburgh Needs to Know” series, the virtual forums, town halls and Facebook events organized by 1Hood Media are valuable resources for what everyone needs to know about issues impacting Pittsburgh’s Black community.
ACLU-PA
Pennsylvania’s branch of the ACLU has created this guide specifically for protesters, taking Pennsylvania state law into account.
CivicCLP
CivicCLP is your place to learn about civic life and the importance of the First Amendment through Library programs, services and information resources.
Pittsburgh National Lawyer’s Guild
The Pittsburgh chapter of the NLG has provided “Know Your Rights” trainings, can provide legal observers to protests if invited and has recently established a support group for those charged with felonies for protesting.
POISE Foundation
Pittsburgh’s POISE Foundation has created the Human Equity and Justice Fund, which provides rapid response mini-grants to Black-led organizations supporting frontline racial equity work and youth-led social change.
PublicSource
PublicSource has created a “Public Safety” section that includes video and news articles on local safety issues. Comprised of a diverse team of reporters and editors, PublicSource provides extensive coverage of protests, policing and Pittsburgh’s power structure.
Steel Smiling
Protesting can be hard on mental health. This local Pittsburgh mental health advocacy organization offers emergency financial support for Black Pittsburghers in need of therapy. Steel Smiling provides education and resources on how people and organizations can handle mental health issues.
American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU has been a defender of individual rights for one hundred years and provides numerous downloadable “Know Your Rights” guides.
First Amendment Center – Freedom Forum Institute
The Freedom Forum raises awareness of First Amendment rights through education and advocacy and works to facilitate relationships between the media and the public. Their website includes an in-depth protest primer that includes interactive examples.
Movement for Black Lives
M4BL provides resources for protesters including tactics to stay safe, assess risks, and guard against infiltration and misinformation. They also provide a list, subdivided by state, county, and city, of “Verified Bail Funds.”
National Lawyers Guild
Since 1937, this association’s mission has been to serve the people “by valuing human rights and the rights of ecosystems over property interests.” The Guild defends the First Amendment rights of protesters through their Mass Defense and Legal Observer programs.
Protect the Protest
An initiative through several nonprofit organizations to “defend dissent” and shield “activists, community organizers, journalists, and small media organizations” from SLAPPs (Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation). Protect the Protest can help connect protesters to legal representation and financial aid.
