The Music Department offers a wide range of streaming music and research databases. This list can also be found on the Music Research Resources page.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Enjoy thousands of tracks across multiple genres. Stream music on your computer or using mobile playback (requires a constant internet connection). Note: When accessing this resource from outside the library enter Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh in the “Search by institution name” box. You will then be prompted to enter your Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh library card number.
- American Music: Thousands of tracks that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event. African American Song is also a part of American Song.
- Classical Music Library: This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world’s greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more.
- Contemporary World Music: This resource aims to deliver “the sounds of all regions from every continent.”
- Jazz Music Library: One of the largest collections of streaming jazz online featuring labels such as Fantasy and Prestige.
- Smithsonian Global Sound: Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.
This resource can only be viewed on site
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event. Note: When accessing this resource from outside the library enter Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh in the “Search by institution name” box. You will then be prompted to enter your Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh library card number.
A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
This resource can only be viewed on site
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Tom Lord’s Jazz Discography provides dates, location, track titles, personnel, matrix numbers, and label information for jazz records.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1970. The Library owns paper copies of Music Index from 1949 – 1996.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Salem History provides online access to Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Listen to over 2 million tracks of mostly classical music. Note: When accessing from outside the library enter your library card number in the “Enter passcode” box.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Stream audio of jazz music. Part of the Naxos Music Library. Note: When accessing from outside the library enter your library card number in the “Enter passcode” box.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children’s classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry. Note: When accessing from outside the library enter your library card number in the “Enter passcode” box.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
This resource is available to CLP cardholders only.
Authoritative reference sources on music history and theory plus musician biographies. Includes: The Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, plus articles from Grove Opera and Grove Jazz.
