Skip to Main Content Skip to content

Music: Friends of the Music Library

This guide provides an overview of resources from the Music Department at CLP. We have books, printed music, sound recordings, databases, special collections and musical instruments.

 

 

    

Friends of the Music Library - Supporting the Music Department at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh for over 75 years

The Friends of the Music Library is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organization dedicated to providing additional funding to support the music collections at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main, and to encourage increased use of the library's collections by the public. It was originally formed in 1949 as a merging of two informal philanthropic organizations that focused on developing CLP's music collections. 

You can read more about the history of the Friends here. 

Contact the Friends of the Music Library.

Music Sale at CLP - Main

The Friends sponsor a music sale to support the Music Collection. We accept donations of CDs, DVDs, music scores or collected editions, and books about music. Sorry, no vinyl records at this time.

Our Next Sale

WHEN:
Stay Tuned!

WHERE:
Carnegie Library - Main
Music Department
4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

To be sure your donated items are accepted, please make sure they do not have the following damages

  • Loose, frayed or broken bindings
  • Yellow and/or brittle pages
  • Soiled covers and pages
  • Mold or mildew
  • Evidence of insects or rodents, on the items themselves or any boxes they may have been in
  • Strong odor
  • Water damage
  • Missing pages and illustrations

Policy for Books and Materials Donations from Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.

Contact the library at 412-622-3114 or musicdept@carnegielibrary.org for more information about donating material.