Foundation Directory (FDO) is the most comprehensive prospect research tool for fundraisers. Use this database to search for grantmakers through advanced search filters such as Subject Area and Geographic Focus. Foundation Directory is best for looking for project based funding - programs that have a clear goal, a clear audience, and a clear timeline. You can find out what subject areas grantmakers are funding and how big the grants are that they are giving out. You can look at 990 forms and see who works at the organization in order to start networking.
Access Information: Foundation Directory is available on-site at all CLP locations. To access this database, please search for Foundation Directory on CLP's website, or access through this link. You can schedule a 1:1 appointment to learn more about this resource.
Guidestar Pro allows you to research and analyze data and financials on millions of nonprofits in one dynamic interface using multiple filters to refine and improve search results. This database allows you to identify key nonprofit leaders and analyze individual salary and compensation data. Nonprofits who claim their organization on Guidestar are able to earn Seals of Transparency by providing additional information about their mission, programs, brand, financials and strategy. The more information an organization provides, the higher level seal they will receive.
Access Information: Guidestar Pro is available on-site at all CLP locations. To access this database, please search for Guidestar on CLP's website, or access through this link. We are unable to download information from Guidestar. You are able to create a free, personal account with limited access to this database from home. You can schedule a 1:1 appointment to learn more about this resource.
What can Guidestar be Used For?
A data visualization tool that shows you who is funding what and where they're funding it. It also helps visualize current trends in giving. Foundation Maps can be useful for finding statistics that can be used in proposal writing.
Access Information: Foundation Maps is available on-site at CLP-Main. To access this database, please ask a staff member to log you into this link. You can schedule a 1:1 appointment to learn more about this resource.
