There are many reasons that an individual might seek funding outside of the 501(c)(3) tax-exempt framework, including to fund education, pay for housing repairs, or community work that doesn't fit the scope of what any organization is currently doing. Most public and private foundations aren't set up to fund individuals so finding this type of money comes with some unique challenges.
Scholarships, Grants and Prizes 2021 by
Peterson's® Scholarships, Grants & Prizes 2021 provides up-to-date information on more than 1.6 million privately funded awards worth over 10 billion dollars available to college students. It contains detailed profiles of awards based on academic fields and career goals, ethnic heritage, talent, employment experience, military service, and other categories that are available from private sources such as foundations, corporations, and religious and civic organizations. Approximately 3,500 profiles include information on award amounts, eligibility requirements, application deadlines, contact information, and more. Easy-to-use indexes allow students to search for awards by criteria like academic fields/career goals, sponsoring organizations, employment/volunteer experience, military service, nationality or ethnic heritage, corporate or religious affiliation, talent/interest area, and location of study. Quick-reference chart lists programs offering awards ranging from $50 to $150,000 Informative articles offer tips on winning a scholarship with a winning essay, guidance on getting in the minority scholarship mix, ways to use social media to help pay for college, strategies for searching for and finding awards, and more.
The Ultimate Scholarship Book 2024 by
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more.Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
501 Ways for Adult Students to Pay for College by
Adults can find the means to go back to school despite the pressures of work, family, and a mortgage with this guide to funding continued education.With expanded information on online and distance learning and part-time classes and new financial aid, loan, and scholarship opportunities, this updated resource teaches adult students how to find and win scholarships designed especially for them, obtain financial support from employers, get financial aid for distance learning, receive larger financial aid packages, take advantage of educational tax breaks, trade tuition costs for volunteer service, and cancel education debts with loan forgiveness programs. Twenty firsthand anecdotes inspire adult students with creative and unusual ways to pay for their education.
Starting with a high school, vocational school, or college financial aid office is a good way to find out about opportunities that are available to students specifically at your school or the school where you are about to start. The first step in being eligible for any type of financial aid, including scholarships (money that does not need to be paid back, unlike loans) is filling out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). In Pennsylvania, The Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA) is an organization that assists state residents with the form and other issues related to loans, grants, and paying for college.
Career Cruising is a library subscription that you can access from home with your library card. The Financial Aid Selector Guides you through a series of questions to identify scholarships and grants specific to your background, educational goals, location, and more.
The Pittsburgh Foundation is the largest community foundation in our region, and one of the largest nationally. They compile a list of scholarships that are available to residents of Allegheny and Westmoreland Counties.
The Beaver County Foundation manages a small number of scholarships that can be applied to by residents of that county.
This is not a comprehensive list, but these links connect to various agencies that offer grants and funding for home repair, cost of living expenses, medical expenses, and more.
The Pittsburgh Foundation provides a number of grant opportunities for individuals who are facing systemic or temporary barriers to meeting their basic needs in areas of housing, food access, health care, child care, employment gaps, or education. The criteria and deadlines for applying to these grants can be found on this page.
The YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh provides both emergency and empowerment grants in areas such as eviction prevention, general financial assistance, and legal aid.
The Urban Redevelopment Authority of Pittsburgh provides grants to homeowners who require disability modifications in order to stay in their homes.
The Greater Pittsburgh Arts Council provides several grant opportunities for artists.
The SCALE Fellowship Program is a 10-month fellowship showcasing, providing a platform for, and financial support to Black women in music.
The Pittsburgh Foundation has funds earmarked to support individual artists. Individuals who are not affiliated with a 501(c)(3) must apply with the support of a fiscal sponsor.
A Fiscal Sponsor is a 501(c)(3) organization that works with an individual or group so that they can receive grant funding for their project or program. This is a legal, contractual relationship that comes with both rewards and risks but can allow those who don't have legal tax-exempt status to be eligible for traditional grant funding.
Side Project Inc. has offices in both Western Pennsylvania and Florida and has worked with local and national organizations as a fiscal sponsor and nonprofit incubator.
POISE Foundation is located in Pittsburgh, PA and partners with organizations and individuals as a fiscal sponsor to support charitable goals in alignment with their mission.
New Sun Rising takes applications for fiscal sponsorship on a rolling basis and supports a variety of programs in the Western Pennsylvania region.
Pittsburgh Center for Arts and Media provides fiscal sponsorship to individual artists who are unable to get funding through traditional foundations.
