This portion of the guide focuses on local organizations that provide free assistance with job counseling, prep to enter or re-enter the job market, resume and interview support as well as other employment and training-related services. Additionally, this page will list specialized resources for unique populations and circumstances in seeking work.
Brashear Association Neighborhood Employment Center
The Brashear Association Neighborhood Employment Center provides assistance with resume writing, job counseling, interview preparation, and access to fax, phone, internet, and email.
730 E. Warrington Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15210
412-390-3588
JFCS Career Development Center
The Career Development Center of the Jewish Family and Community Services (JFCS) provides career assessments & counseling, workshops, resume and job search assistance, and job seeker support groups.
5743 Bartlett Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15217
412-422-5627
Career Link – Downtown Pittsburgh
Career Link provides employment workshops, job fairs and hiring events, job postings, and other supportive services. You can find further information here:
304 Wood St, Pittsburgh PA 15222
412-552-7100
The Center for Women of the National Council of Jewish Women - Pittsburgh provides women with networking and skill-building opportunities, job shadowing and mentoring, classes, workshops, and preparation to enter or re-enter the workforce.
Contact information: 1620 Murray Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15217
412-421-4400
Eastside Neighborhood Employment Center
ENEC provides employment workshops, recruitment events, ongoing workshops with PNC and UPMC, and general job search support including help with resume writing and career counseling. Services are available for anyone 16 and over.
113 N. Pacific Ave. Pittsburgh, PA 15224
412-362-8580
Goodwill of Southwestern PA
Goodwill provides various employment programs including skills training, job training, job placement assistance, veterans' services, career assessment and coaching, work incentive programs, and supported employment. You can find further information here.
118 52nd Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15201
412-481-9005 or 412-632-1706 TTY
Life’s Work provides job placement, supported employment, case management, vocational evaluations, job coaching, mentoring services, and employment preparation for people with disabilities or barriers to employment.
2403 Sidney Street, Suite 500, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
412-471-2600
Pennsylvania Women Work offers several unique programs to help job seekers connect with the right resources to succeed.
650 Smithfield St #520, Pittsburgh PA 15222
412-742-4362
Priority Two is a Christian-based organization providing job search assistance, career counseling, skills training, workshops, and classes for people who are experiencing unemployment, under-employment, or career transitions.
North Way Christian Community, 12121 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA 15090
724-935-0252 or office@ptwo.org
Urban League of Greater Pittsburgh
The Urban League provides employment assessments and counseling, job readiness assistance, job referral and placement services, interview coaching and resume development, career workshops, and access to employer interviews and career fairs. Urban League also operates the Mature Workers Program for workers over 55. You can find further information here:
The Warner Center 32 Fifth Ave., Fourth Floor, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-227-5021 or employment@ulpgh.org
WorkAble provides free employment counseling, career mentoring, job coaching, and career consultant services to unemployed adults. WorkAble is operated by Jewish Family and Community Services and the United Way
412-586-3722 or cdc@jfcspgh.org
This is a source for “career exploration, training and jobs” and is sponsored by U.S. Department of Labor. It offers resources for people changing careers, the military and veterans, workers with criminal convictions, and workers older than 55.
This website, also sponsored by U.S. Department of Labor, helps laid-off workers and other career changers explore new careers that may use the skills and experience gained in previous jobs.
A website that helps immigrant professionals restart their careers in the United States.
This website provides a wealth of information on getting older safely and healthfully in the US, but it also includes information on the Senior Community Service Employment Program.
A collection of tools and resources for job seekers 50+.
AARP is a well known interest group for people over the age of 50. They provide resources for senior workers both nationally and locally.
Part of PBS, this website strives to meet the needs and unleashing the potential of older Americans through media. It includes articles on finding jobs.
Fair Shake/Reentry Resource Center
Supports the successful reintegration of formerly incarcerated people into society
Honest Jobs: Fair-Chance Employment
Lists organizations that are open to hiring people with misdemeanor and felony convictions
National Employment Law Project
Ensuring People with Convictions Have a Fair Chance to Work
Careers at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Homeless Veterans Community Employment Services
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Veterans’ Guide to Choosing the Right Vocational or Trade School
Help with deciding which career path and program are right for you.
A filtered search on Zip Recruiter for jobs giving preference to veterans.
Connecting veterans to civilian opportunities.