The resources listed below are some organizations and services that provide free or low-cost resources to individuals who identify as LGBTQIA in our region.
Due to the uncertainty of funding, staffing, volunteer support, and other factors, CLP cannot guarantee the continual availability of any of the services listed below, although we will regularly update the information provided. This list is a guide to assist in finding LGBTQIA resources and does not indicate endorsement of or partnership with any service or organization listed.
If you represent a provider of social services that we have included in this guide and would like to offer additional information or corrections, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message.
If you represent a provider of social services that we have not included, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message. We will consider the addition of your organization or service and may follow up with additional questions.
If you find any information provided within is incorrect or out of date and would like to tell us, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message.
In this myth-busting follow-up to the 2020 breakout bestseller Birds of All Feathers , diversity and inclusion expert Michael Bach breaks down everything you need to know about creating inclusive workplaces for people who don't fit squarely into the "straight" and "cis" box. And don't worry if you're already feeling lost; by the time you've finished this book, you'll know exactly LGBTQ2+ means - and a whole lot of other stuff to boot.
Headcase is a groundbreaking collection of personal reflections and artistic representations illustrating the intersection of mental wellness, illness, and LGBTQ identity, as well as the lasting impact of historical views equating queer and trans identity with mental illness.
As featured in People magazine : One LGBTQ family's inspiring, heartfelt story of the many alternative paths that lead to a loving family, with lessons for every parent.
From surrogacy and adoption, to transgender pregnancy and finding child care, parenting as an LGBTQ person is complex. This book is an authoritative, comprehensive, and easy-to-read guide to parenthood and family building for LGBTQ people.
LGBTQ STATS chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities.
As a gay man living in London and working as a nutritionist, Daniel O'Shaughnessy knows that the LGBTQ+ community has specific dietary and health needs.He works with individuals on matters you might expect: weight loss and muscle gain, addiction, fertility and digestive health issues. But he also works with many clients on more sensitive matters such as nutrition for balancing hormones while transitioning, how to eat if you have a chronic condition, and how to mitigate against the party lifestyle.
aising LGBTQ Allies sheds light on the deeper, multi-faceted layers of homophobia. It opens up a conversation with parents around the possibility they may have an LGBTQ child, and shows how heteronormativity can be harmful if not addressed clearly and early.
In The Stonewall Generation: LGBTQ Elders on Sex, Activism, and Aging , sexuality researcher Jane Fleishman shares the stories of fearless elders in the LGBTQ community who came of age around the time of the Stonewall Riots of 1969. In candid interviews, they lay bare their struggles, strengths, activism, and sexual liberation in the context of the political movements of the 1960s and 1970s and today.
For additional resources, please see this Page maintained by Proud Haven.
Allies for Health + Well Being
To improve health and well-being, Allies provides integrated medical care, supportive human services, and community-based education with a focus on serving LGBTQ+ individuals and community-based education for individuals living with, or at risk of, HIV, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections. You can find more information here. You can request an appointment here.
5913 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412-345-7456
Central Outreach Wellness Center
Central Outreach Wellness Center is a holistic, multicultural, LGBTQIA, HIV & Hep C health organization. Their services include comprehensive transgender healthcare and free STD testing. Financial assistance is available to those who qualify. You can find more information here.
Timber Court Building
127 Anderson St Suite 101
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
412-322-4151
Through theater and creative expression, Dreams of Hope provides LGBTQIA+ youth space to grow in confidence, express themselves, and develop as leaders. Dreams of Hope serves youth 13-26 years of age while fostering intergenerational spaces. You can find more information here.
412-361-2065
info@dreamsofhope.org
Hugh Lane Wellness Foundation serves LGBTQ+ and HIV communities across Western PA. They offer a variety of health and human services and supports, as well as training for organizations to improve their capacity to serve LGBTQ+ clients and staff. Services include programming for youth and families. You can find more information here.
412-626-3812
Hugh Lane North, 925 Brighton Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15233
Hugh Lane East, East Liberty, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Persad Center is the region's leading behavior health agency for LGBTQ+ community. They provide individual, group, family, and couples counseling, as well as support groups and training either in-person or via Telemedicine. You can find more information here.
Pittsburgh Location:
5301 Butler St, Suite 100
Pittsburgh, PA 15201
412-441-9786 (x252 intake line)
Washington location:
59 E. Strawberry Alley
Washington, PA 15301
PFLAG provides monthly meetings around support, education, resources, and advocacy to those who are LGBT+ along with their families, friends, and allies. You can find more information here.
Vintage Senior Services building/Hugh Lane Wellness Foundation
421 N. Highland Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Warmline support: 412-833-4556
Parent Support: parentsupport@pflagpgh.org
Project Silk Provides support groups and education surrounding substance abuse, trauma, sexual health, LGBTQIA+ issues, and living with STIs for youth and young adults of color. You can find more information here.
304 Wood Street, Mezzanine Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412 532-2123
Proud Haven is an organization that provides emergency short term housing for TLGBTQIA+ people ages 18-30, in addition to youth programming and other resources and supports. You can find more information here.
517 E. Ohio St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
412-953-4666
admin@proudhaven.org
SisTers PGH is a Black and trans led non-profit organization that serves QTBIPOC (Queer Trans Black Indigenous People of Color) trans, and nonbinary people within Southwestern PA. SisTers provides a variety of social services as well as community events and advocacy. You can find more information here.
2014 Monongahela Avenue
Swissvale, PA 15218
412-297-0548
info@sisterspgh.org
Trans Buddy PGH is a community-led peer-support organization that provides practical and emotional support for trans individuals navigating healthcare, as well as education for healthcare providers and the community. You can find more information here.
412-944-4261
transbuddypgh@gmail.com
Allegheny Reproductive Health Center
Allegheny Reproductive Health Center provides affordable reproductive health services and gender affirming care. Uninsured people may be eligible for financial assistance. You can find more information here.
5910 Kirkwood St
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412 661-8811
Metro Community Health Center provides a wide range of LGBTQIA-competent physical and mental healthcare services, including hormone replacement therapy and HIV care. Cost is sliding scale based on income. You can find more information here.
1789 South Braddock Avenue Suite 410
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
412-247-2310
Planned Parenthood of Western Pennsylvania
Planned Parenthood offers sexual and reproductive health services including Hormone Therapy. Cost is sliding scale based on income. You can find more information here.
933 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-434-8971 (Pittsburgh location)
There are five additional locations throughout the Southwestern PA service area (Moon Township, Bridgeville, Johnstown, Somerset, and Greensburg PA) that administer hormone therapy.
1-800-230-7526
