The resources listed below are some organizations and services that provide free or low-cost resources to individuals and families in our region.
Due to the uncertainty of funding, staffing, volunteer support, and other factors, CLP cannot guarantee the continual availability of any of the services listed below, although we will regularly update the information provided. This list is a guide to assist in finding resources and does not indicate endorsement of or partnership with any service or organization listed.
Car Seat fitting stations – Pittsburgh EMS Training Division
Pittsburgh EMS Training Division offers child safety seat checks by appointment or public event. Child passenger safety technicians will teach you how to correctly transport your children, and to make sure that everyone in a vehicle is buckled up on every ride. This is an educational service, not an installation service. Through this hands-on opportunity, you will learn how to properly secure your children in their child safety seats. You can find further information here.
Contact Allegheny County EMS Stations for appointments or public program availability here.
If you are a parent who lives in Allegheny County and in need of a safe place for your baby to sleep, the Cribs for Kids® Program is already set up in all birthing hospitals in Allegheny County. After you have delivered your baby, you will be provided with safe sleep education while you are still in the hospital. If you are financially unable to afford a safe place for your baby to sleep, the hospital will ask you to complete a request form so that you can receive a Graco Pack ‘n Play® portable crib before you leave the hospital.
All partners provide safe sleep education for parents and caregivers, and many provide Graco Pack ‘n Play portable cribs. Some partners have a different set of requirements for receiving portable cribs and some partners may only provide safe sleep education, but not cribs, however they may know of other programs that are available in your area that can assist you. You can find further information on your nearest partner organization by entering your zip code here.
5450 Second Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15207
1-888-721-crib ext. 412
Genesis of Pittsburgh -Baby Care Items
Genesis of Pittsburgh provides formula, diapers, free crib, a new car seat, new mattress, free maternity, baby clothes and childcare classes – for mothers who complete Genesis classes while pregnant and for babies up to 6 weeks old. Genesis also provides housing for pregnant women only. You can find information here.
550 California Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15202
412-766-5212
Hello Baby is here to support every family with a newborn in Allegheny County. Get free or discounted diapers, cribs, car seats and formula from local organizations. Resources are also available to help families of newborns find a place to live, pay utilities or get a ride to important appointments.
Find local resources through Hello Baby web site here.
Mid-Atlantic Mothers' Milk Bank
Mid-Atlantic Mothers’ Milk Bank recognizes the importance of breast milk to optimize the health and well-being of all babies, especially medically vulnerable infants. When mothers’ own milk is unavailable, Three Rivers Mothers’ Milk Bank provides donor human milk, which is collected and processed according to the guidelines set forth by the Human Milk Banking Association of North America. We also aim to facilitate research and education in human lactation. Find out more information through the Mid-Atlantic Mothers' Milk Bank here.
412-281-4400
info@midatlanticmilkbank.org
Welcome, Little One / Lifeline of Southwest PA
Welcome, Little One provides free diapers and Lifeline provides wipes to families once every three weeks. Office hours: Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 10:00 am-2:00 pm. Call to make an appointment. For further information on Lifeline here.
Investment Building
Suite 420 4th Floor
239 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-391-6862
Lifeline – call for an appointment
Investment Building
Suite 401 4th Floor
239 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-562-0543
Lifeline Cranberry Office – call for an appointment
213 Executive Drive Suite 230
Cranberry Twp., PA 16066
724-776-2550
Western Pennsylvania Diaper Bank
The Western PA Diaper Bank distributes diapers, period products, incontinence supplies and other basics to families in need through social service agency partners listed here.
201 N Braddock Ave. Suite 102
Pittsburgh, PA 15208
412-373-3074
info@wpadiaperbank.org
East End Community Thrift or “Thrifty”is a volunteer-run thrift shop through the Thomas Merton Center which provides low-cost clothing and household goods to the community. You can find further information here.
5123 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15224
412-361-6010
Text 412-721-6811
Mt. Hope Community Church Clothesline
Mt. Hope Community Church Clothesline offers gently used clothes for Penn Hills and surrounding community. You can find further information here.
12106 Frankstown Road
Pittsburgh PA 15235
412-793-0227
New Vision Community Church – Kids Closet
New Vision Community Church – Kids Closet provides free clothing for local children and adults on the 2nd Saturday of each month from 10:00 am – 2:00 pm. Enter through the back door of the church. For further information contact us here.
1620 Randolph Lane
Verona PA 15147
412-241-6160
No Strings Shop provides free clothing as well as furniture and home goods. They are open from 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Monday through Friday. You can find further information through their Facebook page here.
2411 Bedford Ave.
Pittsburgh PA 15219
412-687-0649
Holy Cross Evangelical Lutheran Chapel
Holy Cross Evangelical – Lutheran Chapel provides monthly distributions of free clothing. Call for distribution hours and bring a bag to carry the clothes you receive. You can find further information here.
5319 Second Ave.
Pittsburgh PA 15207
412-521-0844 or 412-892-8827
Allegheny Intermediate Unit Preschool Home-based Services
Allegheny Intermediate Unit Preschool Services provides home-based services from pregnancy through 5 years, for children to acquire the skills they need for kindergarten. Head Start serves children 3 years to kindergarten. You can find further information on a variety of AIU services here.
Home-based Services Pre-School Enrollment Line: 412-394-4594
Angels' Place offers free Childcare and early Childhood Education for single parents who meet income guidelines. You can find further information here.
Northside:
2615 Norwood Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15214
412-321-4447
Swissvale:
2538 Woodstock Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
412-271-2229
With Find Childcare.gov families can search for childcare using their zip code, address, or name of a provider. They can also get information about help paying for childcare, explore the different early learning programs, locate information about quality early learning programs or providers and learn about regulations. You can find further information here.
Jeremiah’s Place offers free, temporary short-term and overnight care when families are in crises or experiencing an emergency situation and need safe care for their children. Prior in-take and reservation required. You can find further information here.
6435 Frankstown Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412-924-0726
John Heinz Child Development Center
The John Heinz Development Center provides affordable, educational day-care to empower children (aged 12 months – 5 years) for success in school. You can find further information here.
2001 Wyandotte St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
412-261-0373 ext.1
jhcdc.pgh@gmail.com
Birth Doulas of Pittsburgh offers supported birth as well as post-partum support services, in addition to Evidenced Based Birth Classes. Schedule a virtual meeting here. Further information can be found here.
412-880-2282
hello@birthdoulasofpittsburgh.com
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh Free Clinic- Main
The Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh Free Clinic – Main in Oakland provides General Pediatrics, Specialty Clinical Pediatrics as well as Child Development services. You can find further information here.
3420 5th Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-692-6000
Family and Pediatric Health Center - East Liberty Family and Pediatric Healthcare Center
The East Liberty Family and Pediatric Healthcare Center provides Family Medicine, dental, pediatrics, podiatry, and gynecology. Almost all insurances are accepted and Sliding Fee Scale is offered. There are several locations including East Liberty, Lincoln-Lemington and Wilkinsburg. You can find further information here.
6023 Harvard St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412-661-2802
Maya Organization offers services to pregnant women and their partners which include childbirth classes, doula support, breast feeding, post-partum support and new born to toddler parenting support. Complete 12 classes and get a free new crib and mattress. Contact for class availability and scheduling. You can find further information here.
7451 Washington Ave.
Swissvale, PA 15218
welcome@mayaorganization.org
412-945-7670
En Espanol: 412-450-0528
The Midwife Center for Birth and Women's Health
The Midwife Center provides Midwives and Nurse Practitioners to take care of the reproductive health needs of individuals of all ages. Our goal is to treat the whole person, with a focus on your reproductive health. The Midwife Center is in-network with most private insurance and medical assistance (Medicaid) plans. Our goal is to make our care as accessible as possible to all, including to those without insurance. If you do not have insurance, we may be able to offer you care on a sliding fee scale. Services offered include: pregnancy and birth care, annual gynecological exams, contraceptive counseling, STI screening, family planning, fertility awareness, etc. You can find further information here.
2831 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-321-6880
Planned Parenthood of Western PA
Planned Parenthood of Western PA provides reproductive health care, information and education on sexual health, family planning, and relationships. You can find further information here.
933 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222
412-434-8957
Three Rivers Youth accelerates the recovery of children, adults and families from abuse, substance use, and mental health disorders.
Behavioral Health Services include high-quality mental health services that focus on improving lives, reducing symptoms, and improving self-management of the consumers we serve. Services are targeted for eligible individuals, and families experiencing mental health issues or concerns.
Drug and Alcohol Recovery Services include licensed drug and alcohol outpatient services. The services include drug and alcohol Level of Care Assessments, Out-patient and Intensive Out-patient treatment through individual and group counseling. The sessions are confidential, culturally sensitive and intended for the under-served and high priority populations. These services are offered by Certified Recovery Specialists (CRS) who work with individuals struggling with substance abuse on a peer-to-peer basis. CRS services are intended to extend and enhance the drug and alcohol treatment continuum by helping to prevent relapse and promote sustained recovery and if relapse occurs, help minimize the negative effects through early intervention and, where appropriate, timely referral to treatment. Individuals involved with CYS, the criminal justice system and those re-entering the community after release from jail may also benefit from this service.
6117 Broad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412-441-5020
info@threeriversyouth.org
It's not always easy to try out a new recipe, but sticking to what you know and love can get pretty boring. Hack Your Cupboard provides age-specific guidance to help you move on to more ambitious meals. This is the cookbook for anyone who wants to break out of a kitchen rut without breaking too much of a sweat.
Mom Hacks contains more than 150 mom hacks from real moms to help make your life a little easier and your time (kid-free or with kids) more manageable and, dare we say it, more productive (and maybe a little more fun!).
Simple projects and tips to save money, update, and renovate!
Whether you're cleaning house, cooking a meal, improving your appearance, or fighting a cold, this indispensable guide will help you with natural and simple solutions to your daily tasks requiring only basic--and inexpensive--items with multiple uses that you should always keep on hand in your home.
Learn how to do all of your own home repairs with this comprehensive, visual guidebook!
Discover NIFTY(tm) tips and tricks for keeping every inch of your home neat and tidy. These innovative hacks will transform your space--and your life--in no time. Brought to you by BuzzFeed 's popular NIFTY(tm).
Applying for SNAP
Just Harvest can help people apply for SNAP, as well as other benefits.
For more information about SNAP benefits visit https://www.dhs.pa.gov/Services/Assistance/Pages/SNAP.aspx
Applying for CHIP
For more information about the CHIP program and to apply online, visit https://www.dhs.pa.gov/CHIP/Pages/CHIP.aspx
Allegheny County Women Infants and Children Program - WIC
Allegheny County’s WIC program provides food and infant formula for pregnant women, or women with children until 1 year of age for formula, 5 yrs. for food. To expedite the process, WIC recommends asking your doctor to complete a WIC application and fax it to WIC at: 412-350-6184. Mothers can then also pre-apply online here.
WIC will then set up an appointment and mother will have to bring in documents listed on the application or website. These documents include proof of income, proof of address, photo I.D. and more. You can find further information on WIC program services along with enrollment and clinic locations here.
239 Fourth Avenue, 3rd Fl.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-350-7240
Fax for doctor’s application: 412-350-6184
Allegheny Family Network Parent Support Line
The Allegheny Family Network offers support to parents when they call 1-888-273-2361 Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:00pm. Parents can talk to trained and experienced Family Support Partners who have personal experience raising a child with behavioral issues. They can help parents connect to and navigate services as well as provide emotional support. The Parent Support Line is NOT a crisis line. A caller may have to leave a voicemail for a Support Partner to return their call. This service offers support and referral. In case of a crisis or emergency, call 911. You can find further information here.
1-888-273-2361, Monday – Friday 8:00am – 4:00 pm
Since 1967, Autism-Pittsburgh (Formerly Autism Society of Pittsburgh) has been the foremost voice and resource of the Pittsburgh area’s autism community.
Autism Pittsburgh provides the following services to local communities:
You can find further information here.
795 Pine Valley Dr., Suite 22
Pittsburgh, PA 15239
412-856-7223
info@autismpittsburgh.org
Azure Pittsburgh | Sensory Friendly Family Concerts
Autism Pittsburgh also offers programming for individuals on the spectrum and their families through Azure Pittsburgh. Azure Pittsburgh recognizes that autism and related challenges can present barriers to attendance and engagement in a formal concert setting. Azure Pittsburgh provides programs with the highest quality artists while taking care to consider and remove as many barriers as possible to create a sensory-friendly environment where all people are accepted, embraced, and celebrated. Concerts are always free and all behaviors are welcome.
See upcoming events here.
You can contact Azure here or email info@autismpittsburgh.org
ASERT(Autism Services, Education Resources and Training)
A statewide partnership that provides streamlined access to information for Pennsylvanians living with autism. ASERT provides resources for individuals with autism, parents and caregivers, family members and the community. Learn more here.
Contact: info@paautism.org or 877-231-4244
La Leche League is a national breastfeeding support network which provides a warm line for non-emergency breast feeding support. You can find further information here.
National Support Line: 1-877-452-5324
Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Pittsburgh – Roselia Pregnancy and Parenting Support Services
Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Pittsburgh – Roselia Pregnancy and Parenting Support Services provides pregnancy and parenting support services, which include baby care items, life skills education, as well as counseling services. You can find further information here.
212 Ninth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
General Information: 412-456-6965
Allegheny County: 412-456-7219
UPMC Health Plan Neighborhood Center
The UPMC Health Plan Neighborhood Center provides virtual health care services, a food pantry, workforce development programs, social services, and referrals to supportive resources for UPMC Health Plan members and all individuals and families in the community.
Eleven co-working stations with phones and Wi-Fi are available to anyone who comes in, and the organization is partnering with the Greater Pittsburgh Food Bank to host a food pantry one Saturday each month.
Residents can also schedule and go to their virtual care appointments at the center. The Center provides a drop-in child care center for parents to use while accessing services.
The Village at Eastside
6401 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Phone: 412-665-4650
Hours of operation: Monday through Friday – 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Saturday – 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Questions or concerns about your child’s development? Contact the organizations below for a free screening.
Alliance for Infants and Toddlers
The Alliance for Infants and Toddlers is an Early Intervention Service Coordination Agency for Allegheny County residents with children ages 0 – 3 years with developmental concerns. You can find further information here.
2801 Custer Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15227
412-885-6000
The Allegheny Intermediate Unit serves eligible children in Allegheny County, ages 3 – 5, with developmental delays. You can find further information here.
412-394- 5700
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh Free Clinic- Main
The Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh Free Clinic – Main in Oakland provides developmental screenings and evaluations as well as General Pediatrics and Child Development services. You can find further information here.
3420 5th Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-692-6000
Connect Early Intervention Referral Line (serves outside Allegheny County)
The Pennsylvania Dept. of Education provides early invention support and services for PA residents through the Connect Helpline. The Connect Helpline is for parents who have questions about their child's development. The line assists families in locating the correct County Early Intervention Program with children from birth to 3 and children 3 to 5. You can find further information here.
Connect Helpline: 1-800-692-7288
Pittsburgh Public Schools Early Intervention
PPS Early Intervention Program provides developmental screenings and evaluations for city residents with children between ages 2 years and 9 months – up to 5 years. You can find further information here.
412-529-4000
Every Child offers family based clinical services, caregiver support, foster care and adoption support programs. You can find further information here.
1425 Forbes Ave., Suite 300
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
412-665-0600
1-888-665-2940
Healthy Start Pittsburgh requires a mother to be pregnant to apply and qualify for this program. Mother and child are eligible from pregnancy until the child is 18 months old. Services include doula, breastfeeding support and fatherhood programs, as well as mental health services and home visits. Call or apply through web site and will be contacted by intake coordinator to set up an intake interview. You can find further information here.
400 North Lexington Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15208
412-247-4009
The Holy Family offers in-home family services which are child-centered, family-focused counseling that empowers families to handle a wide array of challenges, focuses on child safety, and connects families to community resources. Parents and Children Together (PACT) is a 90-day intervention program that meets regularly with families to identify the barriers that contribute to truancy, work to decrease those barriers, and locate vital community supports and resources. Stop Now And Plan (SNAP) program helps children aged 6-11 deal with serious behavioral challenges when they begin to emerge. Visit Coaching is a time for parents to connect with their child and make happy, lifelong memories. This program empowers parents to create a safe and loving environment for their child each time they visit. You can find further information on all of these services here.
8235 Ohio River Blvd.
Pittsburgh, PA 15202
412-766-9020 x1474
Mobile Moms Traveler’s Aid provides bus tickets to prenatal appointments throughout pregnancy, and up to two checkups post-delivery. In addition, assistance can be issued for WIC trips, birthing classes, smoking cessation classes and genetic testing. Mobile Moms can also help with tickets for an adult escort and any children that have to accompany to appointments. You can find further information here.
Traveler’s Aid
343 Blvd. Allies
Pittsburgh 15222
412-281-5474
Neighborhood Resilience Project - Family and Community Enrichment Center
The Neighborhood Resilience Project is a faith-based Community outreach service which helps families put together a personal plan, with objectives and actions to move forward in areas such as housing, childcare, education, employment, etc. Includes family, youth, senior and HIV/AIDS programming/support. You can find further information here.
2038 Bedford Avenue
Pittsburgh 15219
412-261-1234
Office of Family and Child Health – Allegheny County Health Department
The goal of the Office of Family and Child Health (formerly Maternal and Child Health Services) is to maximize the quality of life and health of mothers, infants, children and their families in Allegheny County. Home visiting by public health nurses provided through ACHD for pregnant women and new mothers with children under 2 years. You can find further information here.
Hosanna House
807 Wallace Ave. Room 407
Pittsburgh, PA 15221
412- 247-7950
Pittsburgh Mercy provides individual, group, and family therapy along with service coordination. Individuals can discuss immediate concerns and request services by phone or at the walk-in Crisis Center which is open 24/7. You can find more information here.
1200 Reedsdale Street - Services for Children and Adolescents
Pittsburgh, PA 15233
315 South 9th street – Community Treatment Team – outpatient mental health coordination team.
249 South 9th Street – Health Center
330 South 9th Street – Outpatient psychologists and psychiatrists
264 South 9th Street – Walk-in Crisis Center
Pittsburgh PA 15203
1-877-637-2924
TANF is the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families which is a federally funded program that can give temporary assistance to non-parent caregivers. Requirements can be found here. Further information about the program and application can be found here. This page provides the Pennsylvania TANF eligibility requirements. Applicants must meet both state and federal guidelines. The application is through Compass, which can be found here.
Wesley Family Services serves individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities with behavioral healthcare and therapeutic support services. Family based mental health and family focused solution-based services are provided. Drop-in Centers and appointment locations are found throughout south-western PA. You can find further information here.
412-342-2270 and 1-888-222-4200
You can click here to explore our full Food Resources guide.
WIC: Food and infant formula for pregnant women or women with children until 1 year yr for formula and, 5 years for food. yrs. For food. The Breastfeeding Helpline is 412-687-2243 available M-F from 8:30am – 4:30pm. To expedite the process WIC recommends applying online at www.pawic.com. WIC will then set up an appointment and mother will have to bring in documents listed in the application or website, which include proof of income, proof of address, photo I.D. and more. You can find further information here. For an application to WIC go here. You can find further information here.
239 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-350-5801
If you represent a provider of social services that we have included in this guide and would like to offer additional information or corrections, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message.
If you represent a provider of social services that we have not included, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message. We will consider the addition of your organization or service and may follow up with additional questions.
If you find any information provided within is incorrect or out of date and would like to tell us, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message.
