The resources listed below are some organizations and services that provide free or low-cost resources to individuals who are in need of clothing or household items in our region.
Due to the uncertainty of funding, staffing, volunteer support, and other factors, CLP cannot guarantee the continual availability of any of the services listed below, although we will regularly update the information provided. This list is a guide to assist in finding clothing and household resources and does not indicate endorsement of or partnership with any service or organization listed.
If you represent a provider of social services that we have included in this guide and would like to offer additional information or corrections, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message.
If you represent a provider of social services that we have not included, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message. We will consider the addition of your organization or service and may follow up with additional questions.
If you find any information provided within is incorrect or out of date and would like to tell us, please reach out via email to info@carnegielibrary.org . Make sure to mention the “Social Services Library Guide” in the subject of your message.
Dress for Success Pittsburgh provides professional and court appearance attire as well as industry specific clothing. A referral is required to receive clothing. Any 501©3 non-profit can refer women ages 14 yrs + for services. In addition to clothing, 3 personal care items and 3 accessories will also be provided here.
305 34th Street
Pittsburgh PA 15201
412-201-4204
East End Community Thrift (Thrifty) is a volunteer-run thrift shop through the Thomas Merton Center which provides low-cost clothing and other items to the community. You can find further information here.
5123 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15224
412-361-6010
Text: 412-721-6811
East Liberty Presbyterian Church Chapel Market
East Liberty Presbyterian Church Chapel Market provides gently worn clothing. They are open Thursdays from 10am – 12pm, as well as the first and third Tuesday of every month from 5-7pm. You can find further information here.
116 S. Highland Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412-441-3800
First Trinity Lutheran Church provides distributions of free toiletries on Sunday 12:30 – 1pm. You can find further information here.
531 N. Neville Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-683-4121
The Free Store Braddock receives surplus and donated goods and redistribute them to neighbors in need. They are open Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:00am-1:00pm and Saturdays from 10:00am-12:00pm. You can find further information here.
420 Braddock Ave.
Pittsburgh PA 15104
The Free Store at Propel Northside Community Wellness Center distributes new and gently used clothing and household items to Propel students and community members. A variety of fresh produce is also available. Please check here for distribution hours.
1805 Buena Vista Street
Pittsburgh PA 15212
412-325-7305 ext. 1510
Free Store Wilkinsburg's mission is to redistribute new and lightly used goods at no cost to community members to bridge times of financial stress and emergency. Shopping hours Saturdays 10:00am-2:00pm. You can find further information here.
619 Penn Avenue
Wilkinsburg PA 15221
412-436-9836
Holy Cross Evangelical- Lutheran Chapel
Holy Cross Evangelical – Lutheran Chapel provides monthly distributions of free clothing. Bring a bag to carry the clothes you receive. You can find further information here.
5319 2nd Ave.
Pittsburgh PA 15207
412-521-0844
Hot Metal Bridge Faith Community Care Closet
Hot Metal Bridge Faith Community offers The Table - a free community meal every Tuesday and Thursday 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with personal care items also available. You can find more information here.
270 Jane Street
Pittsburgh PA 15203
412-481-4010
Mt. Hope Community Church Clothesline
Mt. Hope Community Church Clothesline provides gently used clothes for the Penn Hills community. You can find further information here.
12106 Frankstown Rd.
Penn Hills, PA 15235
412-793-0227
New Vision Community Church – Kids Closet
New Vision Community Church – Kids Closet provides gently used clothing on the second Saturday of each month from 10:00 am – 2:00 pm. You can find further information here.
1620 Randolph Lane
Verona PA 15147
412-241-6160
The No Strings Shop provides free clothing along with some furniture and home goods. They are open from 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Monday through Friday. You can find further information here.
2411 Bedford Ave.
Pittsburgh PA 15219
412-687-0649
Project Bundle Up, a program of the Salvation Army, provides winter coats to children and seniors in need. You can also contact your local Salvation Army to apply for assistance with Project Bundle Up, which can be found by entering your zip code here. You can find further information here.
700 North Bell Street
Carnegie, PA 15106
412-446-1640
projectbundleup@use.salvationarmy.org
Pittsburgh Dream Center provides hot meals and clothing outreach is available the first Monday of every month. You can find further information here.
908 Evans Ave.
McKeesport PA 15132
412-805-0227
South Hills Interfaith Ministries (SHIM) Community Closet
South Hills Interfaith Ministries (SHIM) Community Closet provides seasonally appropriate clothes and other necessary items. SHIM also has a food pantry and can help with utilities and other basic needs. You can find further information here.
SHIM Center
5301 Park Ave.
Bethel Park PA 15102
412-854-9120 ext. 108
St. Vincent de Paul of Pittsburgh
St. Vincent de Paul provides clothing, furniture and household items at discounted prices. The stores also provide clothing vouchers and coupons. You can find further information here.
See store locations here. Enter zip code here to find store nearest you.
412-321-1071
ACCESS program is a coordinated, shared-ride paratransit service, which has been providing door-to-door, advanced reservation transportation in Allegheny County.
650 Smithfield Street, Suite 440
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-562-5353
North Hills Community Outreach (NHCO)
NHCO Transportation Assistance Program Lack of reliable transportation can be a barrier for individuals seeking employment, getting to/from work, and it can limit employment opportunities. The Transportation Assistance Program helps individuals stabilize transportation to support employment, job search, or in some cases education and vocational training.
1975 Ferguson Road
Allison Park, PA 15101
412-487-6316
Travelers Aid of Pittsburgh is a non-profit, United Way agency that provides social service programs to individuals in need of transit assistance. The only organization of its kind in Western Pennsylvania, Travelers Aid works with public and private entities to offer a plethora of transportation options for various populations.
343 Boulevard of the Allies
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412- 281-5474
